Too many people have been asking me what my influences are, what drumming videos I watch and where I get groove from.

Don’t get me wrong, its great to have influences from great drummers. Personally I really dig Dennis Chambers, Teddy Campbell and Gordon Campbell for their groove, Thomas Lang for his insane chops and Carter Beauford for being the most natural drummer ever.

But imo, that should end there. Just pure influences. Don’t imitate their style, or copy their chops… by all means, use their chops but infuse your own style into it. That’s where your groove comes from.

Groove isn’t about taking multiple chops and styles and hybridising it into one… groove is self developed. It’s when you create your own music, your own beat and your own style. That’s groove.

Groove on guys.

