I’m going to bitch about something that has been on my mind for a very, very long time.

It started off with deals on a certain musical website. What pissed me off was the fact that wannabe musicians would be trying to sell off low-end cymbals with comments and phrases such as “Cutting sound, suitable for rock and metal!” or “Dark, washy tone”, along with a hefty price tag. The fact that morons like them were doing stupid things like trying to overprice their beginner cymbals pissed me off so badly that I refused to sell anything there for a period of time.

When I started selling/buying my cymbals/snare/pedal/hardware on the same website some time later, I faced another breed of losers. The kind who offer you ridiculously low prices for your item, citing various reasons ranging from, “I’m a student, thus my budget is very low” to “This cymbal is very old, its not worth the amount you want.” Firstly, I’d like to say that if you do not have a budget, either take a loan, or contact the person and ask if he/she can hold it for you while you raise the amount, like one off my buyers who actually confirmed his deal with me. I held on to his hats, and he told me that he’d be able to deal with me in 2 weeks time. I agreed to it because it’s a win-win situation. I get a buyer, he gets what he wants. If you are unable to raise the money to buy your equipment, then I suggest you start to learn how to save, because not having the money is not a valid reason for sellers like me to lower the fucking price to accommodate you. Either you accomadate my price, or you fuck off. As for the condition of the cymbals, I do believe that I’ve done enough research, and have been drumming long enough to know the value of individual cymbal that I possess. Certain cymbals maybe old, but lines like avedis increase in value over the years, provided there’re no cracks or dents in them. If you can’t appreciate this simple fact, then you don’t deserve to own an avedis cymbal. Similarly, you can fuck off.

After that, I realised that most people were going goo-goo-ga-ga over kids in tapered jeans with eyeliners playing really, really loudly, and trying to go really, really fast, with no chops and no licks to showcase. At the same time, the play as if the drumset pissed them offf and they were trying to kill it – no technique, no groove, and most importantly no feel. But that isn’t what pissed me off. The fact that idiots can come up to me and ask me why I don’t pull off insanely fast rapid fire rolls over my drumset, really make me want to tell them that, “If I rolled any faster and played any louder, you’d all die because I’m that good.” And then stab them with my drumsticks.

Apart from playing and chops, the attitude of musicians nowadays have also been on the decline. I’ve spoken to quite a number of musicians, ranging from drummers like myself to keyboardists, to guitarists. Most of the mature ones are really outstanding and committed, and I salute them. However, there’re always the few immature musicians who literally “worship” the ground their “idols” walk on. Their idols being other musician who appear to more pro than them. And how do they judge the musician? By how fancy his/her playing is, how loud and fast their playing is. Hello boys and girls, wake up your fucking idea. Music is not about speed. I don’t like doing rapid fire straight 16 or 32nds fill ins because I don’t think its nice. I’d prefer to play with dynamics, triplets and paradiddles around the kit. I like to play with ghost notes and buzz rolls. If you can’t handle me playing with the groove I have, kindly fuck of and do not tell me to “do a very fast roll around the drumset man!” Because I will stab you with my drumsticks and impale you on my cymbal stand as a warning to everyone else.

Last but not least, I cannot stand musicians with no discipline and no sense of commitment. Being a musician is what it is – fun and joy… When you’re jamming and gigging. Why? Because that’s when you bust out your chops, your grooves, and show everyone what you’ve been practicing so long for. But when you’re practicing and rehearsing, it isn’t all fun and games. Its about hours of sitting in front of a hard rubber pad practicing rudiments to a metronome. It’s about listening to the same songs over and over again, trying to figure out what kind of a fill in you could play to make it sound a bit different and a bit nicer, and for originals, what you could play to either spice up the particular part, or make your lead guitarist sound good. It’s about knowing what to play, how to play, when to play. It’s about having the discipline to practice, and the committment to do it well. It’s about having the self-discipline to manage your time, to juggle between school, work, friends, band and practice itself.

Being a musician doesn’t mean you pick up a guitar, a bass guitar, a pair of drumsticks, and randomly shred/roll about on the kit. It’s not about wanting to destroy stuff, playing loudly or playing as quickly as you can. It’s about practice, practice, and more practice.

Being a musician isn’t about having the stage to yourself. It’s about sharing the stage with your bandmates, making them sound good, and ultimately making the band sound tight, and rock the house down.

Endth.

