I’ve lost count of the times I’ve watched American History X. Everytime I start deleting old movies that I don’t watch anymore, I always skip past the directory marked “A”. I’ve never even remotely contemplated deleting it, because its such a powerful movie.

American History X has got to be one of the most powerful movies I’ve ever watched in my 20 years of existance. Even though there’re scores of impressionable young kids around the world who view the movie as the movie for neo-nazism and for skinheads, their very own cult movie, I still stand by the fact that it is a powerful, and an amazing movie.

Indeed, I’d admit that I downloaded the movie, back when I was a young lad, to watch the scene where Derek Vinyard curbstomped a negro who tried to steal his truck. I admit that I downloaded the movie because I felt that Derek Vinyard’s swastika tattoos were damn cool.

And now here I am, re-watching the movie again and again. Not because I feel that it’s cool to be a Neo-Nazi or a skinhead, but because I feel that the message it sends across is amazingly clear and powerful. Makes you wonder about the human psyche and how some people could be manipulated to such an extent that their thinking and their way of life revolves around a flawed idealogy. It makes you wonder how some people could be so ignorant and bring racism to such an exaggerrated level.

